Turning Ground

Turning Ground is a bluegrass band founded in 2013, based in Salyersville, Kentucky, and rooted deep in the Appalachian Mountains of Eastern Kentucky. The band members include:


  • Nathan Arnett – Guitar and Vocals
  • Ralph Adams – Guitar and Vocals
  • Evan Maynard – Mandolin and Vocals
  • Mike Daniels – Banjo and Vocals
  • Kayla Amburgey – Bass and Vocals


Their style of bluegrass/bluegrass gospel is original and built around five very creative members who love the music! They borrow from the traditional sounds of yesterday and blend it with the contemporary sounds of today’s bluegrass to deliver a solid drive to their music.

Nathan Arnett handles the lead vocals like a veteran and is one of the great up and coming vocalists and songwriters in the business. Ralph Adams’ crisp and clear tenor vocal is earning him a fast reputation. Evan Maynard started working with the group in late 2015 and his spot on baritone rounds out the Turning Ground harmony they are quickly becoming known for and the blend they are able to create is something the listener is sure to love.

The harmony put together with multi-instrumentalist Evan’s tasteful mandolin work, Kayla Amburgey’s rock solid bass and Mike Daniels driving the band with the banjo has made Turning Ground one of the new, energetic bands to surface onto the bluegrass scene.